We have a number of talks coming up about our expeditions, register for a talk by clicking here!

All Available Talks

  • VIRTUAL TALKS

    2024 UK Field Course Talks

    Hear more about the field courses we offer at The Knepp Estate, Britain’s premier rewilding site!

    Date UK/Europe Time US/Canada Time Link
    Tuesday 28th May 6pm (BST) | 7pm (CEST) 10am (PDT) | 1pm (EDT) Register here!
    Wednesday 12th June 6pm (BST) | 7pm (CEST) 10am (PDT) | 1pm (EDT) Register here!

     

    2024 International Expedition Talks

    We recently held our last International Expedition Talk for the 2024 Season, and our bookings for the international expeditions closed on March 31st 2024. Our Knepp projects will remain open for booking. If you’d like to hear more about the expeditions you can view the links below for more information about our projects. If you still want to sign up for an expedition and are only able to join us in 2024 then email us on expeditions@opwall.com and we can check with the site manager to see if booking an expedition is still possible.

    We can also take general 2025 expedition bookings here. By paying a deposit now you can get a headstart on fundraising! We are working on our options for 2025 and by booking now you can have first choice on your favourite site, with your refundable deposit protected. 

    Video Link
    International Expeditions Talk View here
    Introductory Video View here

     

    Careers in Conservation Talks 2023/24

    A comprehensive guide on the various routes into a career in wildlife conservation and the different jobs available in the sector. Followed by a Q&A session with our fantastic panelists:

    • Dr Ian Hendy – Senior Lecturer in Tropical Marine Ecology, Marine Restoration & Conservation, and Blue-carbon at the University of Portsmouth
    • Charlotte Phillips – Nature Partnership Manager for the Greater Lincolnshire Nature Partnership
    • Jack Baddams – Ornithologist and co-host of the How Many Geese? podcast

    View the recording of this talk here.

Already know what you'd like to do?

About Operation Wallacea

  • We’ve been running award winning biodiversity research expeditions for the last 28 years, helping volunteers around the world gain valuable experience and get their hands dirty with real biodiversity research.

    From tropical rainforests and European grasslands, to coral reefs and Mediterranean seagrass meadows, our network of over 200 researchers lead cutting edge projects that inform conservation management strategies and save species at risk of extinction.

    By working alongside and helping our researchers, volunteers gain experience as research assistants. University students can also gather data for their independent research projects or thesis.

  • Our conservation volunteer’s work has:

    • Described 72 species that are new to science

    • Been published in nearly 650 academic papers in peer-review journals

    • Been used to lobby governments to create 6 Protected Areas and National Parks all over the world

    • Supported communities to establish income streams that work in harmony with the environment

  • INTRODUCTORY VIDEO

    Check out this short video about Opwall and our projects. To see the extended version we put together click here.

Browse the website

Why not use this opportunity to take a look at our website, we've included some helpful links below

Wallace House, Old Bolingbroke, Spilsby, Lincolnshire PE23 4EX, UK
| +44 (0) 1790 763194 | info@opwall.com