Tanzania is a large East African country with a population of around 55 million. The country is formed from the former British colonies of Tanganyika (mainland Tanzania) and Zanzibar - an offshore archipelago of islands. Tanganyika was proclaimed an independent nation in 1961, and Zanzibar was granted independence from Britain in 1963. In 1964, Zanzibar and Tanganyika joined to form the United Republic of Tanzania. More than 100 languages are spoken but Kiswahili (commonly called Swahili in the West) is the official language. English is spoken fairly widely at an administrative level and is often still used in secondary school education as the language of instruction. The country boasts diverse habitats with 30% of the country occupied by National Parks or protected areas. There are two capital cities - Dar es Salaam (the administrative capital) and Dodoma (the legislative capital) and the national currency is the Tanzanian shilling.

Related Locations

  • Kisiba Secondary School

    This is the base for the first part of the expedition. You fly into Mbeya airport and are taken by bus to Kisiba which takes around 4 hours. The school overlooks one of the crater lakes in a very rural part of Tanzania and provides ...

    Find out more

Research Expeditions

School Expeditions

Wallace House, Old Bolingbroke, Spilsby, Lincolnshire PE23 4EX, UK
| +44 (0) 1790 763194 | info@opwall.com